Persimmon still building

George woke us just before 8.30 with a phone call. Even for us, that was late.

I took my alendronic acid and then departed to get some photos of the university's placard advertising its new science and business park. On my return past the signboard, I realised I could have got a much better photo from the entrance to the park. So that's another excursion then.

Stopped off on the Ashby Road in Shepshed to try and get a photo of the new Environmental Recycling Facility (ERF) - another name for burning rubbish and hopefully using the heat given off to power a steam turbine. It seems an awfully convoluted way of being 'green.'

Again, I shall have to repeat the shot. I realised that I would get a much better idea of the huge building from the other side of the road.

Rain began to fall as I packed up but didn't persist. Therefore Basil and I took a walk down Butthole Lane this afternoon to get shots of the fence bordering the Persimmon Kingsgate estate which supposedly reduces noise from the close-by M1. From the bridge over the motorway, you can see all the farmland that's been abandoned on Hathern Hill, ready, I imagine, for Persimmon to move in and start building next year.

I could even see the farmhouse that I used to photograph every month. It's sad.

Colin maintains that there's a gate leading from Kingsgate to Butthole Lane. We found a path but it's bounded by metal barriers up against the building area. I doubt that it will be upgraded.

Coda: it wasn't abandoned farmland, it was beans, possibly rape, which always goes black when ripe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.