Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Continuing in the Metallic theme

People who think of flies as only those pesky things that try to ruin a good picnic or get in your house and never leave have overlooked the abundance of more interesting flies.  Take this tiny thing, for example.  Commonly called a Long Legged Fly (for the obvious reason) this is actually a member of a large genus (Condylostylus) with over 250 different species.  This one is probably Species patibulatus (I know, who cares?).  It's very common, very small (about 1/4 inch) and very pretty.  Like yesterday's little bee, this fly can appear metallic green or a bronzy-orange depending on how the light hits it.  I think they are rather elegant little creatures.  They are also hard for me to get clear shots of , owing to their small size, so I was quite happy to get this.

It was a morning of errands including a trip to our jeweler who is going to help me repurpose a pair of diamond earrings into something I will wear more often.  Then a stop to pick up suet (thanks to the blasted raccoons who made off with two cakes this week) and the grocery store.  

Then the day was mine to spend running in and out, camera in hand, trying to stay cool.  It's brutally humid today, leading up to the edge of Hurricane Henri tomorrow.  We aren't expecting to get too much of the storm, but of course that could change.  

I posted four other pics that I like on Flickr starting HERE (nuthatch, two hummingbirds, robber fly).

And today I'm recommending dark with coconut.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.