After the rain.

I’ve been up the garden in my dressing gown first thing.
Now I’m sitting here looking out through the patio window at an even more luminous scene, after all the rain, practically continuous, yesterday.
I must say the plants in the borders have evidently loved it!
They are all perked up, with one of my shrub roses now producing lots of new buds. It’s one of my favourite ones, which has beautiful small white blooms.
I scattered some lawn repairer on the bare patches of grass a few days ago, and already can see signs of new growth beginning.
The grass itself has a carpet of shiny raindrops.
The geraniums, however, are soggy. I’ll snip off the worst bits later.
The incredible thing is, even with all that rain, no slugs have appeared, and no usual snail army about.
The birds have been quieter this week too.
As I drew back the curtains in the back bedroom earlier, my favourite Great Spotted Woodpecker, was on the feeder which hangs on the old apple tree. The apples are now bright red although much smaller this year, due to the weather in early Spring.
We will be able to have a walk later. Looking forward to being outside!
I never went out at all yesterday aside from when we delivered a meal to our young friends who are still in isolation due to Covid-19.
Church Livestream in a bit.
And a FaceTime catchup with the family later. They were on holiday last week. Their house move looks as though it could be mid September, if all the relevant paperwork from everyone is in place.
And now it’s time for breakfast. My usual porridge with lots of fresh fruit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.