Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Rough

A recce for a Ramblers evening walk I'm due to lead in a couple of weeks time.

From the Falkirk Wheel up into Roughcastle Community Woodland and a series of paths brings one out at the Antonine Wall and Rough Castle Roman fort (pictured). I have to say that at this point I was eaten alive by flies last night, but that was the exception rather than my usual experience. Hopefully they'll be somewhere else (or it might be colder or windier) when I return with the group in September.

One leaves the Rough Castle site and follows the John Muir Way into Bonnybridge. I made a wee detour to here to take in the new mural and the sculpture at the Heritage Park before walking up to the Canal. From here it's a slightly less than two-mile walk back to the start-point at the Wheel.

Box ticked. Blip taken. Home for tea and telly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.