Sheltering Bella

I went out yesterday before the storm hit to tie up the Helenium and found a little bee.  I often find "expired" bees on a flower, especially this time of year, but when I gave her a gentle touch her leg moved.  I thought she was near the end though so I stayed with her, thanking her for her hard work, until she no longer responded.  I went in to get a spoon to dig a little hole to lay her in but when I came out a while later she was waving her wee antennae at me!  She was still hanging on but clearly not "normal" so I decided that with the storm about to hit there was no way I would leave her there so I clipped off the stem of the Helenium, put it in a jar of water and relocated it to a sheltered corner of the Back Porch Café.  She might be a dying bee but she would die safe from the wind and rain.  This morning I discovered that "Bella" is still alive!  For how long, I don't know.  I offered her some water but she didn't take any so that's all I can do.  Expect Bella updates... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.