Passing Harray

Megan has work to do today and an interview for Climate 2050.

I go to Kirkwall to get a Philmac 25mm blanking plug for Aggie. Then to Tesco for various cleaning materials for the flat.

Back in Stromness the sun is blazing down as I walk to the Post Office and coop. I shelter from the heat back at the house, dozing to a burbling radio.

We go to the Merkister at Harray Loch for tea, driving past the stones at Stennes and the ring at Brodgar. The sky is clear, what clouds there lending a certain majesty to the dusk.

We eat in the bar. Megan manages to put away three courses. I limit myself to a main course - Tusk baked with capers in the oven. It’s a good meal, accompanied by a red, sinking sun.

On the way back, I spot a pottery. They have called it Harray Potter ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.