Derwentwater from above Ashness

Please look LARGE

The first day of Spring, and it certainly didn't feel like it. Pretty cold all day, with a keen breeze, although compared with what's forecast for tomorrow...!

Visited the Hamlet of Watendlath today, and on the way up, parked at Ashness Bridge car park (where they've just added a pay and display machine) and climbed out the back of the car park to enjoy the view over Derwentwater. I found this viewpoint on a little ledge, with the small tree just in front of me and the expanse of Derwentwater and the fells beyond. Trouble was, there was only just room to set up, behind me was a cliff face, and two feet in front of me, a 300 foot drop to the road below. That certainly focuses the mind!

I needed to be very careful to avoid flare, as the sun was hitting the front of the camera, and I used two Grad filters (0.6 and 0.45) stacked to counteract the very bright sky.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.