The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Cuil Bay and Balnagowan island

with the hills of Morvern behind. Our first full day here. What did we even do? (This is a backblip).

CleanSteve and I drove to Ballachullish. I thought the co-op was where the old Milk Bar used to be in about 375 AD, when we lived here. Had to ask a bin man for directions. Found the shop and the quarry centre, bought some postcards and picked up some leaflets. Found the petrol pumps in Glencoe village.

Drove back via the Holly Tree at Kentallen, where we took coffee on the deck. Could not decide whether to eat there or not one night. First world problems.

Returning to the ranch I helped my mother read her meter, as she was worrying about it. Then found out that she didn't have any paperwork pertaining to the account, didn't know where it was, nor did she know her deceased husband's email, nor who was paying the account for her now. We made a few useless phone calls and then I advised her to leave it until someone asked her again for the meter reading.


I was feeling a bit confused and cross by then, so I walked down to the beach, Cuill bay. We used to swim here when I was a child, in the summers of 1975 and the hot one of 1976. We lived in a big (rented) house that belonged to the head of the clan of the Stewarts of Appin. He didn't want to live there at the time. It was a wild free-range existence in the countryside, by today's standards. CleanSteve came down and joined me, and we set in the sun, watching other people being sporty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.