The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

The lochan, from Castle Wood

We drove to Oban today because my mother had an appointment. Afterwards, we did a bit of shopping, then left, because it was crowded. I wanted 'lunch with a view' so we went to Poppies, near Connel, on the shore overlooking Dunstaffnage Marina. Like everywhere else in the UK, they were short-staffed, but we had a huge seafood platter that made up for the wait.

Over in Benderloch, near the baronial-era Barcaldine Castle, we visited my youngest sister M in the woodlands she and her partner S have bought. They have 20 acres of a former commercially planted woodland that also has quite a lot of rhododendrons. They've been there since February, living in a caravan and establishing a menagerie of goats; chickens; ducks; and bees. They also have a cat and a neurodivergent brown collie that didn't make it as a sheepdog.

They've got huge plans for it. I won't say too much except that I approve of them all, and it'll be interesting to revisit over the years and see what is happening. M walked me around the boundaries and we gazed over the lochan, which is shallow and very warm for swimming, apparently.

After we'd had tea and a catchup, we set off back for Duror. I was hoping to swim in Cuil Bay with another sister, K. I ( blipped Cuil Bay yesterday, and discovered only today that my sister K was of the two swimmers that I'd observed from the beach). The carer for my mother arrived and my mum chatted to her, then I went down to the bay with K, who'd also arrived, and had a swim. I wore my wetsuit because I've only done cold water swimming once this year, in Wales, and the water was warm enough, once I got used to it. My left foot and hand didn't get the circulation back for some time afterwards, though. We stayed on the beach chatting after our swim, and CleanSteve joined us and watched the sun setting. K stayed for supper, a ready meal and fresh berries, and left around 10pm.

I'm trying to organise a boat trip later in the week for any members who want to.come. Watch this space.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.