A Day In The Life

By Irish59

Sweet Daniel

Some of you may remember a bluejay I blipped last winter that was hobbling around on one leg. At that time his leg was intact and looked normal but his foot was curled up. He came in daily for food but was always alone or kept a distance from the other jays. Obviously I became fond of him and looked forward to seeing him, wishing he would survive, somehow. I named him Daniel after the lead actor in My Left Foot • Daniel hasn’t been around much this summer but this is my second sighting this past week, and my first photo. His foot is gone, and his right leg no longer looks like a leg, but he does tuck it up against his body most of the time. He is a survivor, and so brave and strong. I hope he is a proud Papa too. I know he looks a bit scary right now but that’s because of moulting. I promise to blip him sometime soon to show off his gorgeous blue crest. Fingers crossed he’s a frequent visitor as summer winds down into Autumn • It’s very warm today with humidity and heat settling in for the week. Finally got the hayfield, cough, lawn mowed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.