Blue skies & sunshine all around me today

It was a tad fresh early on when I visited the allotment site to photograph the daisies, (I was hoping to capture a starburst) but it had warmed up very nicely by the time I reached CK to walk Indie. Plenty of butterfly activity, they were certainly enjoying the sunshine. I had to de burr Indie on our return, the common agrimony has finished flowering,  the stems  covered with burr coated seeds, growing all along the grass verge on our return and keeping Indie away is a nightmare, but it was along there that I spotted some of the ripest blackberries this morning so after coffee, cake & natter with mum I drove up, parked on the roadside and picked some berries. It took me about 15minutes to pick a kilo. I could'nt get any more in the icecream tub so time to head home. I went via the hardware store in Chudleigh. Mum needed liquid tomato feed, & a jar of Stone's furniture cream, which I was pleasantly surprised to find Andrew had in stock. Mum will be very happy, as she likes to give the Ercol dining table a treat. I also enquired about secateurs, my favourites have just about had it. He showed me two pairs, not the make or design I like. "I have one more pair in the window". Wilkinson Sword secateurs, exactly the same as my present pair, & on offer.  Kurching! A very satisfactory retail experience narrowly missing the traffic warden giving me a ticket. I asked him nicely if it was okay where my car was parked. No, it was'nt okay. Whoops! Just then the lady parked behind me, where it was okay jumped in her car & drove off, so I was able to swiftly reverse, park, & complete my shopping chores.
Beetroot sarnies for lunch. Yum! Watched the cycling coverage from the Paralympics in Tokyo. Dame Sarah Storey ... what a legend! An interview with another cycling competitor, Jaco van Gass , recounted how he was wounded, losing an arm & suffering other injuries during his tour of duty in Afghanistan. Such courage & determination these athletes have, makes me feel very humble.
It was so beautiful outdoors that I wanted to walk again this afternoon, hubby suggested a circular walk that he does so off we set. I'm sure if he'd gone to the physiotherapist a couple of years back he would be walking a lot better, BUT he knew better & did'nt make one visit.
I watched more of the paralympics on our return, hubby walked up to the pub for a pint. I watched Celebrity Masterchef on catch up.
I made Thai pork noodle soup for hubby, & for me a really tasty veggie (garlic, onion, pea, courgette, French bean, sweetcorn & carrot, all from the plot), plus ham stock, diced ham & pasta shell soup. Possibly THE best ever soup I've made.
I fancied a pud but nothing, not even a chocolate biccie. Chocolate mug cake .. A quick Google, found a recipe, but far too many ingredients for 1, hubby was'nt interested, so I halved most of the ingredients, beat it altogether, & microwaved in a small pudding basin. Mug cake? It would have had to have been a HUGE mug ... it was okay. Better with cream, which I did'nt have. I still have half a cake so maybe sampled with cream tomorrow night.

Thanks to RockArea for hosting WideWednesday #The weather with you

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.