ABSTRACT THURSDAY - MINIMALIST

At a stretch, this shot might fit the bill for Abstract Thursday’s theme today of Minimalist - as there were just two components to this - a glass of water and a book with a pretty cover behind.

Mr. HCB usually brings me a glass of water with my anti-allergy tablet that I take every morning and if I am in the bathroom, he just leaves it on the bedside table.  Today was no exception, and when I saw the book behind the glass, I thought that it would make a good abstract, which I think it has - and you can decide whether it fits the theme!

This glass belonged to my Mum and after she died, I asked if I could have it, because even if I am only drinking a glass of water, I do like to drink it from a “good” glass - one that isn’t thick, but has a thin rim and also looks good.  This cut glass one is one of my favourites and is larger than the whisky glasses we have - not that I ever drink whisky, but I know when I have had a glass of water from this particular glass, I have enjoyed it.  That might not make sense to some people but others will know just what I’m saying.

I guess it’s the same as drinking tea out of a mug - not that I drink tea either - but even coffee, which is my preferred hot drink, tastes better out of a bone china cup or mug - well, perhaps it doesn’t really, maybe it’s just in my mind.

Mr. HCB has been out in the garden for hours pottering around, watering and feeding pots, strimming grass and is now scarifying the grass he has already cut, but there is still a lot to do - I just hope he doesn’t find any more frogs - or hope that they hear the scarifier and jump out of his way.  I’m not sure which is the worst way to die - from being strimmed or scarified!  We did sit and have a cup of coffee together in the garden - meanwhile, I have finished cleaning in the kitchen, which looks good, but I’m still wearing my pink robe, so guess I had better go and get dressed soon.

“Life is an abstract art, 
     and it’s up to you 
          to make sense of it.” 
Talismanist Giebra

P.S.  Today seems a good day to update you on the total for my 100 Abstracts Challenge, which as you know, I did to raise awareness and money for the Mamie Martin Fund, and which helps impoverished girls in North Malawi to obtain a good secondary school education.  This now stands at an impressive £1,168.75 - so once again, HUGE thanks to all who have donated - but it’s not too late if you haven’t.  Just click on this link: 

https://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/MaureenIles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.