An Exemplar of Failure.

Abstract Thursday and "Minimalist", eh... I've always wanted to try this shot. It's ok, I don't ever want to try it again now. LOL. How many ways can you get this shot wrong?

1. Extraneous lighting. Not even a glimmer of external luminance, otherwise you'll pick up reflections. But don't do it in the dark, because you can't see anything...

2. Ensure all your glasses are perfectly clean. Even freshly washed and dried with a glass cloth, these girls had a less than perfect complexion.

3. Ensure all your glasses are perfectly matched with no 'seconds' malformations like off centre feet.

4. Make sure, even if you fail at all the other criteria, you get the bloody things to stand upright! Check again for tilted stems.

And after all that faff, I still dropped the flash into the bowls. I do know now that I need to put a blind over the glasses out of shot, but will I have another go? Well, not tonight.

Minimalist? Minimal talent, anyway.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.