Marionb

By Marionb

Memory Lane..

I spent the day in town today. It probably would have been better to stay at the cottage as it was another scorcher of a day and town is not the place to be in a heat wave! But I needed groceries and also wanted to visit the huge bookstore in town (fodder for a future blip) and I had the chance to go in today with my brother while he dropped off some guests, did some errands and then picked up my sister for her stay at the cottage.

So, what does this scoreboard photo have to do with my going to town? "Town" is Parry Sound, my home town, but more important to hockey fans,  it is the hometown of Bobby Orr...and the home of the Bobby Orr Hall of Fame. This scoreboard sits above the entrance. A hockey fan would recognize its significance, but for those who do not, the reason is that it represents one of the  most iconic goals in NHL history. It was May 10, 1970, 40 seconds into the overtime period  between the Boston Bruins and the St. Louis Blues when Bobby scored the winning goal which won the Stanley Cup for Boston. The picture of Bobby flying though the air as he celebrates the Cup-winning goal is among the most famous in sports history... Parry Sound will never forget that iconic moment! 

I had a lot of time to kill in town, so I went down to the Stockey Centre which houses the Hall of Fame as well as theatre performances, concerts, and the Festival of the Sound - a very popular music festival  held every summer, except for the last two Covid ones of course.  The Centre sits on the shores of Georgian Bay so it is a good place to escape the heat - on a bench under a pine tree overlooking the water. I noticed that the Hall of Fame is now open again so thought it might be a different kind of blip from my usual cottage sunrise ones....

My sister and I are now back at the cottage, all settled in and looking forward to some relaxing days in the sun...intent on making the most of these last days of summer. 



    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.