Butterfly

Continuing on from yesterday’s “nature in the garden” theme - and because I haven’t really left the house today - this butterfly in the back garden is the best I can come up with for a blip!
The day started with good intentions as I went to the gym before breakfast. But then did very little until lunchtime! After lunch I thought I’d better knuckle down to properly learning the new songs (and refreshing some of the old ones) in anticipation of the gig on Sunday. I plugged the bass and computer output into the small amp, so that I could find the appropriate tracks on YouTube and play along to them.
By the time I called it a day, Mrs C was heartily sick of hearing the intro to “Love Potion No.9”, but at least I’d finally made sense of my scribblings and worked out what notes to play and when! I’d also worked out why “Summer of 69” sounded a bit odd. It’s amazing how much better it sounds when you actually come in at the right place.
So that’s two of the set nailed. Just another 38 to go. Actually, if you take into account the ones I already definitely know, the ones that probably won’t be in the gig anyway and the ones I can busk my way through if I have to, then there are probably only about half a dozen I really need to work on. I guess I know what I’ll be doing for most of tomorrow then.
And somehow, I need to fit in a PT session, mow the lawns and hunt out some maps and guide books for my nephew and his partner, who are coming up for a weeks holiday in the Lakes. And I thought life was supposed to get quieter once you were retired!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.