A very poor selfie!

I was so absorbed watching the little blue 'Bluetooth' LED on the selfie stick that I forgot to smile!
My bike behind me, of course, after the early start I mentioned yesterday.
06:30 set off from home, missed the RV point as the garage my friend said to meet is off the road, I thought it was on the main road like most motorway services! Anyway, I realised my mistake and stopped near Swindon to send him a message that I would see them at Membury services on the M4.
Left Membury services about 0800'ish and met others at Reading services and then about 100 set off for Heston Services, near London.
As we approached Heston the traffic coming off the M25 merges with the M4 giving us another couple of hundred bikes coming from the North.
At Heston there were hundreds of bikes, and this was only one gathering point.
I'm awaiting an estimate of how many bikes attended the protest in London, it wasn't anything like the 22,000 that we had in April 2019 but there was still a very considerable number.
The total of us congregated along The Mall, 6 deep. The police had closed the Mall for us, they are really great with us and I think they sympathise with our cause. As did Nelson Mandela in one of the extras!
From the Mall we set off at 12:30, around Nelsons Column and along to Parliament Square where, again, the police were terrific in guiding us into places, many where vehicles are not supposed to go at all! Speeches telling the many hundreds of the public that congregated around us what it was all about.
All the way we had streets lined with people cheering, applauding and taking photos and video. I would think Social Media is swamped with it all today.
When I left I was stopped for nearly half an hour due to an the 'Monthly Medical Freedom' protest march, but lots of other factions seemed to be represented too. Couldn't really grumble when the police had stopped traffic all over London to allow us all to pass through without getting split up! I did try to go down a couple of other roads but it always led back to the, rally. Got to sympathise with their cause too although it wasn't all about Medical Freedom. Many boards and banners were about children being vaccinated without parental consent, workers being forced to be vaccinated or leave their jobs, Smiley Emoji Face flags (Stand in the Park movement), Religious effigies, etc.
A good day for protest rides and marches I think.

I've added a couple of extras of the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.