Harvest time

I'm quite overrun with runner beans, but they are missing from my photo as I have frozen them already. I also passed a bag full to Daniel, together with a kohlrabi. My sweetcorn hasn't been a huge success - a lot of work for half a dozen cobs, but I still enjoy the challenge and no doubt will have another go next year. You cannot beat the flavour in newly picked sweetcorn.

We woke very late today - 9! I think we were both surprised. Consequently I have had a headache all day. It happens if I sleep in. Henry went out last night and stayed at his friend's house, so didn't hgwt back home until 11.30. We had planned to go to Taverham to a craft shop there. Mum came with us and I bought some interfacing, but they didn't have what Henry was after. He has made a leather sheath for his axe from leather he bought at the camp last weekend. He needs the poppers and rivet now to add a strap. We are re-thinking how he can do it. He may end up resorting to the Internet.

I am super pleased with this globe courgettes. They are the first I have managed to get to set. The seed packet I bought many years ago in France and although a courgette plant grows every year, the fruit just form a small ball then rot and drop off. This year I have 2! I think they will be perfect stuffed. I'm also going to try freezing some courgettes. I know they will go mushy, but thought they might be OK for soup!

Spent the evening doing some family history tracing on Jon's family. Very interesting...the first I looked at, had a very short spell in the army in WW1, when he went absent for 10 days, and was then discharged. Character - 'bad'. Oh dear...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.