Hanging Out

So many photos, so much I could say about today... love the happy smiles of the couple in the extra.

Took advantage of being in the area to call in at Nazaré on the way home, such a different vibe to Figueira, which feels sedate, lost in time somewhere back in the 20s; Nazaré felt crowded, vibrant, stuffed with souvenir shops, bola de Berlim stalls, and old women sitting on chairs holding cards advertising holiday apartments. One thing they have in common, though, is they both seem to be staffed mainly by Brazilians.

We went up on the 132 year old funicular railway to the church of Our Lady of Nazaré (and some incredible views) - her image was very small and very decrepit, in a big church on a large square lined with men and women in traditional dress selling nuts and dried fruit, up on the high cliffs. 

The 30 metre waves that the place is famous for only happen in the winter and on a beach to the north of the town - we'd like to go back and see them someday...

I have edited my photo of Figueira that I'd posted on my phone, heck, my lens was dirty!

Gratefuls:
- the opportunity of seeing a new place and enjoying it
- grilled sardines with salad and boiled potatoes and a glass of chilled white wine; if you've never had grilled fresh sardines on a Portuguese beach, you really should add it to your bucket list, they are so good
- the kittens racing out to greet us when we got back, so funny, and that they're fine, and as determined as ever to get between me and my laptop

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.