Capital adventures

By marchmont

Aloft

As is my wont I woke in the middle of the night and decided that rather and lie awake and worry about things I'd ger up and do them. So there I was at 4  poaching salmon and rhubarb, though not together and doing the ironing. I left lifting some tatties till proper morning

When I did get up at 8 it was beautiful, blue skies, sun and no haar. J phoned with info that even she said was useless so I don't know why she bothered. Quick trip to Margiotta for croissant then got everything ready out the back.

Y arrived bang on 10. 10 minutes later as we moved to the garden for the croissants and coffee the work next door resumed with some heavy duty drilling in the drive. Much noise and dust so we repaired to the lawn.

O and E arrived too. He is here to get his PhD at Edin Uni's walk through celebration at the Castle. Later as we sat in the garden roasting they went out in jumpers and puffa jackets, just in case.

Y and I were outside all day, talking, talking and more talking  We moved to the table for lunch), shouting over the intermittent drilling, and then back to the loungers for coffee. It was beautiful and it was only around 5, as the sun edged behind the beech, that it begin to feel a wee bit cool. G arrived from the golf in Leven and then off they went, home to Glasgow.

I went to tidy up and discovered the door in the garage freezer hadn't been closed properly (K before she left?) and the whole thing has frozen shut. It took ages, even with the power off and door open, to chip all the ice off each drawer.

In between I lit the chimenea and read my book until it was way too dark. Willow surveyed the scene.

Freezer restored, kitchen kind of tidy (of course the fridge is now full of good I won't eat plus wine that I will, eventually, drink. I am hopeless at food buying) I went to bed.

It was a beautiful day with my friend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.