Capital adventures

By marchmont

Beside the lounger

Last swim of the week. I succumbed once again to driving though there was no haar, just cloud. I'd slept badly.

Guests this morning, J and L and luckily we agreed it was fine enough to sit outside. By noon the sun had returned. The cream and jam scones (hand made by Sainsbury's) went down well. Unfortunately the coffee grinder chose this morning to die, mid prep. Hasn't lasted as long as my first one.

Booted up the PC for my lunchtime meeting. Luckily I wasn't chairing. It was another beautiful afternoon but before I moved to the lounger I ordered a new coffee grinder. Just went for the same model.

I tried to capture this wasp in the glass enjoying the dregs of the elderflower cordial but it just flew off as I blipped. I didn't realise if actually caught it till later.

Monthly Zoom tonight. I thought of sitting outside but it would have been a bit of a faff putting up the umbrella and E and his mate are still drilling next door.

It was the stalwarts tonight and there was talk of empty supermarket shelves (here) and baseball games (Canada). I won the quiz, unfortunately, questions on Canada, Forth Railway Bridge and Concorde.

Y changed her mind and so now we are staying here tomorrow which is better, less hassle, but it necessitated a food and drink run to M&S. I was getting a bit worried as G joined the conversation and it was nearly 7.30 before I was free. Late for a Zoom.

The desperation was because there was not a lot of food but even worse no booze in the house, other than gin and an open bottle of red.  That situation is now rectified although I hope we don't drink it all.

Had a kind of Chinese takeaway from M&S, allegedly crispy beef. Then back to my French fluff. Series 2 and it's getting silly, plus as often happens on Netflix, the subtitles are out of sync or just not there. But I get the gist.

Then I remembered I didn't have a blip. Thank goodness for that wasp.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.