SamAgainPlease

By SamAgainPlease

Focus creep

Had a bit of an average day.  Saturday quiz with Mum on zoom - this time with both sisters, father, my partner and one niece.  Getting a bit crowded and everyone in my family has to talk, so it was hard to get a word in but grateful for the contact at least.

Took some pics later in the day including two of the same scene (as seen).  One was focussed on the sign showing the direction into the very overgrown native reserve we'd just come through (undiscovered highlight of the day), the other focussed on the clouds out to sea.  As you can see, the "in focus" sign looks significantly closer that when it's out of focus.  I tried a number of ways to stitch it together, and had some success, but decided I liked this blurry version the best.  It's the one that taught me the most anyway (even though I didn't really like any of my results).  (The F stop / shutter speed for each was also significantly different - but, as I understand it,  it's the focus setting that is making the difference.)

I also took one 15 minutes later, closer to home, of the sun setting.  Didn't like this one much either so played around with it in Luminar and wound up with this abstract version (extra).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.