DERELICT SUNDAY AND LOTS OF CHOCOLATE

We have had a lovely day today - first of all we went to Andover to see our D-i-L and her husband - we hadn’t seen their new home so it was good to see how well they had settled in.  

It was amazing that they were at home as they are both care workers and are not often home together at weekends, but it was her birthday in early August and not only had I forgotten to send her birthday card, but I also still had her birthday presents, so it was a good opportunity to give her those.  

Sean and Mr. HCB were well away discussing sport while Amanda and I had a grand tour of the house, after which we had a quick lunch and then sat in the garden chatting until it was time to leave.  My resolve went out of the window when Amanda brought out a dish full of Roses chocolates - she had actually bought them for Sean, but said she knew I liked chocolate, so she was sure he wouldn’t mind sharing them!  I definitely do like it - I told her I’m the original Mrs. Chocoholic!  Poor Sean - I think I need to send him some more to replace the ones I are!  

It just makes me realise how much we have missed social interaction, although I have to say I wasn’t that keen on her two little Chihuahua dogs biting my ankles and shoes every time I moved!  Dotty was particularly keen on my ankles but Winston - see extra - was much more restrained.  We aren’t used to animals though, so maybe they felt the vibes!

We left mid-afternoon and Mr. HCB said that as it was Derelict Sunday, he would find a great derelict tree that we had seen sometime ago, but we did rather go round in circles and almost made our way back to Andover, but found it eventually at a place called Chute Forest.  The sheep looked at me rather quizzically and were probably wondering why a silly old woman was taking photographs of a derelict tree!

It took us rather longer to get home than we thought, so we had a quick tea in order that we can settle down and watch TV tonight - Countryfile, followed by a new series of Vera on ITV and then a new series called Vigil on BBC1 - we shall have square eyes although obviously will have to record one of the new programmes!

Enjoy Bank Holiday Monday and have a good week.

“There’s nothing better than a friend -
     unless it’s a friend with chocolate!”
Anon

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.