dfb24

By dfb24

Differential Grasshopper

It started to rain, so I was headed outside to bring in the lounge chairs when I spotted this grasshopper clinging to the outside of the sunporch window. So instead of going for the chairs I went for my camera. I thought it was kind of creepy the way it has it's mouth open--looks like it's yelling for help! I took a few shots from this angle, and then stepped outside to take a shot of its more "photogenic" side. These grasshoppers are most common in the central U.S. & are generally brown to olive green in color--good colors to help them blend in with the tall dry grasses they eat. They can be ID'd by the distinguishing chevron pattern on their "thighs". While they WILL eat grasses, they'll also voraciously eat crops like corn, grapes, alfalfa and fruits. Their incessant chewing on plant parts can ruin an entire harvest, although they'll also eat ragweed--an allergen to many people--so they could be viewed as somewhat beneficial in a small sense. Change of plans for watching the granddaughter....my daughter and s-i-l asked if I'd come over after the girls are in bed so that just the two of them could go back to Fiesta and do some dancing & wander around by themselves for awhile, so of course I will.  :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.