The Great Chrysalis Rescue!

Oh no! There was a little tragedy in the milkweed patch! On this morning, we had a chrysalis down on the ground. The leaf it was on just FELL. Who do you call to rescue a chrysalis? Do you call for a doctor? A lawyer? A horticulturist? An entomologist? Help! STAT!!!

So I went out with some binder clips and clipped its leaf to a tiny shepherd's hook. Let's hope that the chrysalis was not compromised in any way while it was on the ground!

Then I went out in the afternoon and I found ANOTHER chrysalis down! So I gave IT a shepherd's hook too. And then I touched the leaf of yet a third chrysalis, just to test it, and the leaf came off in my hand! So now we have THREE chrysalises attached to shepherd's hooks. You may see one in the photo above.

There is still one chrysalis hanging from a milkweed plant and I am keeping a close eye on it. Including this one, we now have FOUR chrysalises. The leaves are growing skinny. Hey, fellas, it's time to turn, turn, turn! Let's get moving! There's a hurricane coming!

The soundtrack song is the Byrds, with Turn! Turn! Turn!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.