Luma Tower

18˚C  -  12 mph   E Wind Speed  -  14 mph Gusts  -  Overcast  -  Bits of Sun peeping through!  Shopping with sister in Braehead  -  not easy to park  -  back to normal re crowds  -  face masks worn though.  My blip today is the Luma Tower taken through the windscreen of my sister's car while we stopped at red lights.  The plackard was in the way and I can't find out how to eradicate it in Paint, which is the post-processer I have on this laptop  -  sorry about that.  I do want to use the Tower shot as my blip though, because it has fascinated me for years, but I've never got round the photographing it.  The Luma Tower is one of the best preserved examples of Art Deco architecture in the Glasgow, and designed by Scottish architect Cornelius Armour.  The building was constructed in 1938 as a light bulb factory.  Its distinctive feature is the protruding tower which was originally used to test light bulbs.  When light bulb manufacturing at the plant ended the building was sold and became a caravan showroom. It then became derelict, but from the early 1990s it was converted into affordable flats.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.