Tiny bells

Another good day, though as has become the norm, a little slow getting going. I took the opportunity of doing some Photo Club stuff; we were planning to hold our first meeting on the first Monday evening in October, tho' there now seems to be a problem of which evening we can have in the new Rockfield Centre, aka the former Oban Primary School. 

Planted a few plants out in the Drive Bed - a potted lemon verbena,  Aloysia citriodora, aka Aloysia triphylla or Lippia citriodora. I've known the same plant by all three names in my time! Not that hardy, but I'll give it a go. I also planted three Erigeron karvinskianus, the Mexican fleabane, a daisy with a profusion of small white flowers, turning to soft pink. Anyone who's been to Hestercombe will know it.

My Blip today is a delicate little bulb known for years as Leucojum autumnale, but now returned to Acis autumnalis, which was apparently its name many years ago. Autumn Snowflake remains its common name, but maybe we should suggest renaming it Late Summer Snowflake just to keep the taxonomists on their toes!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.