Ingleman

By Ingleman

Ely Cathedral

Sadly I had to take my son back to Stanstead Airport today for his return to Sweden where he works and lives. His two weeks at home have fled. After a 6am start I dropped him at the airport around 9.30, and we said our farewells with a hug and a handshake. That was it.
I decided to cheer myself up with a diversion to Ely Cathedral, in Cambridgeshire. And boy, am I glad I did. It was monumentally fantastic. I won't wax lyrical about the building, there is too much to take in, too much to see. Just Google it, or go there and see for yourself. I was overwhelmed. So much so that I didn't go inside. I am saving that for another day. The outside was more than enough for my senses. I didn't have my DSLR so had to make do with the smart phone and was a bit put off by the huge distortion prevalent in my images. But suffice to say, seeing this incredible structure is enough. Photos don't matter, really.

My son messaged to say he arrived back at his flat in Sweden. An hour before I got home from Ely. How small the world is nowadays. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.