An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Bamboozled...

Well today didn't go quite how I expected it to!  

The plan was we would have lunch, David would join Alan in the pool for a hydrotherapy session and then we would go to Kwik Fit in Perth to pick up the winter tyres that they were still storing for our previous car (if you know of anyone looking for winter tyres for a Range Rover Velar, please let me know :-))  Once we had collected the tyres the plan was to head north east to photograph some sunflower fields that I became aware existed a few days ago.  So far so good...but then just as we were about to head out the door.....

....my phone pinged telling me I had a message on Facebook so I checked it and just below it was a random message showing on my timeline from the EGG Group in Perth.  It was a lady asking for information on where she could get mature bamboo plants for a garden project.  She was willing to pay and collect.  My spider senses tingled!

We have talked recently about removing the bamboo plants that are in our side garden as we feel they are far too big for the space, on checking them again at the weekend we agreed they had to go, so I messaged the woman saying we had five or six bamboo plants measuring about 10 feet tall.  Also advised her they were planted in their pots so should be easy to get them out the ground.  If she was happy to dig them out, she could have them.  She messaged me back immediately to say she was interested.  I sent her some photos and she said they were exactly what she was looking for and could she collect them in an hour!  I said yes :-)

David headed off to Perth alone in the hope he would be back in time to help remove the plants.

The woman arrived with her husband and he set about digging up the bamboo.  The first plant was really difficult to get out so he moved on to the others as David had texted to say he'd be back soon and could help.  The other three came out the ground much more easily.  And then the fun began....they had come in a Fiat 500!  

I am not sure how they did it, but they managed to get two plants into the car and arranged to come back tomorrow to get the rest.  I think it will take two runs tomorrow.  They were a lovely couple and she insisted on paying me even though they didn't them all away today.  

When they have taken what they want I think there will be at least one, maybe two left, but fear not, another lady messaged me asking if she could have any that were left over!  I've said I will message her tomorrow afternoon once I know exactly what we are left with!  

So on the one hand I was sorry I didn't get to see and photograph the sunflowers, but on the other this has saved us a load of work and we got paid for the pleasure!  Every cloud and all that!  :-)))

In other good news, I counted up the granny squares I have been crocheting for the ice cream blanket and I have enough!  I will start crocheting the squares together later this week and get a border on it and hopefully it will be completely finished by the end of next week.  

This meant I could make a start on my next crochet project :-))  Another blanket but having a go at something a wee bit different....a daisy granny square.   Haven't decided yet if I will do a contrasting border around each square or not.  I am favouring just joining the little squares together directly to each other with contrasting wool.  I'll decide as I go.  They look a little tricky to make but they are so easy.  Looking forward to seeing the end result of this one :D 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.