An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

When drawing fails...

Doodling prevails :-))

I had a very slow start to the day.  Well I was awake just after 7am, had some cereal then decided to read my book in bed for an hour.  Of course I fell sound asleep and woke again at 10.30am.

David headed off to play golf after lunch and I went to the studio to attempt the second exercise from this week's drawing course.  The outline of a fox (all about proportions)  Well my first attempt was a complete disaster!  My terrible drawing of the poor fox's back legs made it look as though it was desperate for the loo!  Oh dear.  Second attempt was slightly better but not great.  I am learning that I can easily follow along with the tutor online and copy what he's doing, but left to my own devices, it's much more difficult. 

Annoyance building, I decided to leave it for today and continue my tulip watercolour whilst listening to Kate B.  That made me feel a lot better.  Leaving the tulips to dry I turned to my little mindfulness abstract that I started the other day and spent a very relaxing hour working on that (and finishing it :-)  

By the end I was a little kinder to myself.  Yes the fox drawing may be rubbish, but that's ok, I am learning.  If I could already draw it I wouldn't be doing the course!  

Phil, the tutor, said this week that the outline exercises are so useful and although we are only required to do three out of the nine, if we have the time or inclination we would benefit from attempting them all.  I see what he means now and will try to do them all.  I hope in a year's time I will look back at these sketches and laugh heartily at them!

David went straight from golf to his singing rehearsal with the tin of Empire biscuits to share round the group.  Once again they were a huge hit.  Phew! :D  David saved his and brought it home to share with me so I did get to taste this batch after all, and I can confirm it was rather good :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.