An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

In the ink!

So many things I should have been doing today....

Sorting the clothes I am taking to Loch Tay on Friday.
Packing said clothes.
Packing toilet bag.
Organising what I am wearing next Friday as we get back from Loch Tay the afternoon of David's singing group's concert.
Also organising what I am wearing a week on Saturday for my brother-in-law's 60th birthday celebrations.
Tesco online order.
Tidying up the kitchen table, which has become a massive dumping ground for things in transit to other parts of the house.
Cleared out the fridge for going away..... I could go on.

But nope, I body swerved all of that...to play with alcohol inks!  :-))

Alcohol inks caught my eye during lock down but I resisted as I had more than enough art materials to keep me amused, but I never lost the hankering to have a play with them.  

That hankering came to the fore again about a month ago and at 3am one night, in a fit of menopausal insomnia madness, I ordered some inks, isopropyl alcohol, Yupo paper and needle tip bottles.

I had planned to have my first go with them next week while we're on holiday at Loch Tay but today the urge got the better of me this morning I decided that perhaps taking potentially messy and fire hazardous materials to a holiday cottage maybe wasn't the best idea.  And so I just had to have a go today.

Let me tell you, it's no where near as easy as the you tube tutorials look!  And getting high on 99% isopropyl alcohol is not as fun as it sounds either! :-))  An air brush would make life easier but at almost £200 that's not going to happen (especially as it needs an air compressor and they're even more expensive!) but I made do with my little hand pump air blower.

Anyway, this is the result.  I got lots wrong and as a result I learned a lot too, so I'm not disheartened.  But I made the right decision not to take all the kit with me on Friday.  

Time to get my Tesco online order done and I will be able to tick at least one thing off my to-do list today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.