An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Going...going...gone!

Before, during and after!!!

C & G were back at 11am to collect the last of the bamboo plants.  

As I mentioned on yesterday's blip,  they managed to get two into their Fiat 500  but I was convinced they would have to do a couple of runs today as two of the three that were left were enormous!  They came prepared with masking tape however, and once they had bound them up, they were able to bend the tops over to get them into the car.  It was a squash and a squeeze though!  

C told me what she plans to do with them in their garden (they recently moved to the area and having redecorated the house, they are now tackling the garden) and she hopes to use some of them to provide a natural shield for their hot tub.  A perfect use I'd say.  They are such a lovely couple and I know it sounds daft, but although we didn't want the bamboo, I am so glad it is going to a good home.  C says she will send me a photo once they've completed the work.  I had to message the other lady who was interested and tell her it was all gone!  

It's such a relief to get rid of it and now we can clear that space out completely, get some new soil and compost in there and think about planting for next spring and summer.  We'll also cut the dog woods on the end fence right back (will keep them over the winter for their colour) then they will be removed in the spring to make way for new planting.  The other border is fine, just needs a tidy up and some spring bulb planting.  Exciting! :-))

David wasn't here to see the last of it removed as he was playing golf in Leven with friends Keith and Jim and he's not long returned having won the round.  Given that both are much better players than him, he is very happy.  In fact by the end of the front nine he was playing to a handicap of 7, not bad when his actual handicap is 26!  

(Apologies, if you are not into golf that last paragraph is complete nonsense and I am sure of no interest to you!  lol) 

I have spent my time wisely reading, crocheting photo editing pics of my friend's jewellery for her Etsy page and getting organised for out trip to Lancashire.  When I say organised, I mean I have started a shopping list.  Christine and Ally (Alan's support workers who are coming with us) have sent me their food lists and I've managed to get a Tesco delivery arranged to come to the holiday cottage on the Saturday morning, so we only have to take enough to get us through the Friday night and some cereal for the morning.  Oh and a bottle of gin ;-))

And now it's time to make roasted halloumi with aubergines, tomatoes and pine nuts from the Fast Roasting Tin cookbook.  First attempt at this particular recipe but I've not had a bad meal from this range of cook books yet, so I am looking forward to it....although I've just realised I many have forgotten to buy pine nuts!  Doh! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.