Joyful

I’ve had a great week

I cannot for the life of me believe a week in Blackpool that spans the August Bank Holiday would ever be very good fun. I love Blackpool but it can get rather bubbly and lively so I tend to visit when it’s quieter or stay out of the crowded areas when I’m there over illuminations. I’m a Lancashire Lass and I know Blackpool’s highs and lows very well.

Knowing Blackpool well meant we were able to steer our way out of busy areas and make new plans when required. Seen lots of new places and experienced new things. Enjoyed being able to cook from fresh and having a large space to chill in after a day of walking. I was told that I was a good cook which was nice - that’s never happened before. It’s made me feel more confident.

Last night we read Mr Men books which came with the lodge (mainly used by families) and my bestie made up a story which was about a Mr Men character based upon me, let’s just say I wasn’t entertaining my friends as well as I thought. It’s was very good improv and had me laughing quite hard, something that hasn’t really happened during the pandemic.

This is a windmill in Marton (close to Marton Mere) built in 1937 as a memorial windmill on the site of a much older windmill (there are a few windmills in this area).The present windmill was gifted in memory of Allen Clark, he was apparently a journalist and author (this included being a story writer who used Lancashire dialect).

This week I’ve experienced the number 3,4 and 6 bus routes. I’ve learned a lot about people just trying to find, catch and travel on the bus. Our bus stop in town was right outside’Funny Girls’ which I suspect is one of the UK’s largest drag shows (I have been there for a show once). I didn’t have a good camera with me but I saw some beautiful people outside, maybe audience members, including a group of boys (possibly on a stag night) who knew how to use a bin after all of them had finished eating chips (there is hope!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.