Papay

Up at my customary far too early hour. Enjoyed what turned out to be a shepherd's warning (extra #1). We set off for the 09:15 ferry to Papay (Papa Westray) an island about a 25 minute crossing from where we're staying in Westray. Papay is a small island with a population of about 90 people. If you're interested you can read about past visits here and here. It is peaceful and beautiful and has a lot going on. 

It was a shame that, once we were ashore, the cloud thickened, the breeze picked up to the wrong side of moderate and the drizzle arrived. Doubly unfortunate that I had decided to do a practice kiltwalk today by following Papay's circular coastal footpath. Off I set in kilt and Kiltwalk t-shirt (extra#2). Layers were added and I was a bit damp. In the end I didn't do the full circuit but we covered a reasonable distance before we caught an earlier than planned ferry back to Westray. I think the cloud is lifting a bit now and it certainly feels warmer.

The blip is looking out to sea from part of the walk. Even on a dull day the sea looks turquoise. 

Edit: how on earth did I forget to say. Saw a hen harrier!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.