Food for thought

Here is a photo of the stew I made last night, which is really good tasting.  It's hard to get the seasoning right when one is improvising, so it's a bit spicier than I wanted, hence the sour cream to cool it down.  There are a lot of meals still left in that pot, especially if I serve it with some pasta.

Today I saw the nephrologist for my three-month checkup.  My numbers are stable, but they're still pretty lousy numbers.  I asked him where he saw this heading, and he said that it wouldn't surprise him if I were on dialysis a year from now.  I didn't think that would happen so soon, so it's got me down. Once on dialysis, people my age live an average of 3.5 years, not the 10 to 15 I've been hoping for.  I need to do some more research and probably take a class at the Northwest Kidney Center to learn more about options before I'm at the point to have to make decisions about it all.

The family will be home from their mini vacation tomorrow, so I will be able to get some consoling hugs.  I hope you all had better news today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.