What is it?

On my way back from the hair salon, I was taking photos of the flowers that were left on the bushes and branches of the gardens along the side of my building.  When I spotted these little red things, I knew they would be my TT blip.  But I'm not sure what they are.  In shape they remind me of fuchsia, but I think they may be some kind of pepper.  Do you recognize them?

I'm delighted to have short hair again - I look younger and lighter and I love not having heavy hair on my neck.  Jenny was telling me about her husband's failing kidneys and the fact that he has just been put on the transplant list.  She is hoping to be the donor if another match is not available -  but her GP won't test for blood type even though she has requested it several times!  I've known my type since I was a child.  Her doctor told her that if she wants her blood typed she should ask her husband's nephrologist to do it.  

It reminded me a conversation I had with Roselie when we got together.  She has been in need of cataract surgery for some time now, but her eye doctor kept telling her that  Medicare won't cover that yet.  She's 83 years old and can't drive at night anymore - what is he waiting for?  I encouraged her to go to my opthalmologist to get the surgery, and reminded her that she has the right to insist that something be done.

Doctors who act based on some arbitrary rule and not the actual needs of patients  should not be in practice.  Yes, Medicate has standards for approving cataract surgery, but Roselie definitely qualifies.  And there's no reason not to type blood when blood has been drawn for other tests.     Roselie now has an appointment with my ophthalmologist and Jenny is considering changing primary care providers.  It's so important to be assertive in dealing with medical professionals.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.