Oenothera lindheimeri now,

Gaura lindheimeri before, which is what I know it as, so good that I checked out the spelling, is a perennial plant native to southern Louisiana & Texas, another fact learnt while searching. I hope i can retain this knowledge. Oenothera biennis  is Evening primrose, now I'm really confused, as I don't see any similarity. I took loads of pics of the flowers in my garden this afternoon, plus the beautiful bouquet of Mona Lisa lilies that jorgiemum gave me as part of my birthday pressie, they are smelling fabulous, filling the lounge with perfume, but I was attempting to capture a "different" angle, this I liked the most with the late afternoon sun filtering through.
I told you I was exhausted, I did'nt wake up until 7.10. Can't remember the last time I woke that late, no rush though, the usual leisurely breakfast of natural yogurt, stewed blackberry & apple this week, & granola, plus black coffee. Allotment visit next. I watered & fed, picked runner beans, peas, enough gherkins for another jar of pickles, a bunch of sweet peas. Turned a piece of ground. Pulled up some spent Borage plants, seeds already dispersed, but easy enough to pull up if too many which I'm sure there will be, but the bees & hover flies love the flowers. Bobby robin arrived, reminding me to feed him. :-) Breadcrumbs & Robin seed, fruit & suet mix. He's a lucky robin.
Back home I did a laundry load. A good day for drying, the sun came out & it's turned into a beautiful day.
I drove down to Mum's, we were having lunch at The Claycutter's Arms with friends who live in Wokingham. They're down for the Sea Shanty Festival taking place in Teignmouth this weekend. Their son has just started working for the Lego company, Customer services dept, he'd sent a Lego flower puzzle, a gift for Mum. That should be fun!!! A very enjoyable couple of hours before heading back home. I did some deadheading around the flower borders, then sat in the sun with my book for a while.
I made duck noodle soup for dinner tonight. I seared the duck breast in a hot pan, setting off the smoke detector. What a din!! Waving the tea towel  around like a loonie. Triggering it not once, but twice. ARGH!! I made it adding my home grown bean sprouts which were a success. A very tasty dinner.
Thanks to BikerBear/Anni for hosting Flower Friday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.