All That's Left

Straight out of the camera, not!

The farm is changing hands at the end of the month. I don't know who the new tenant farmer will be, but it will be sad to see Ruth and Graham leave. They have tended the land for over 20 years.

Progressively, they have been taking down installations and the time has come for the livestock to go. There has been no sign of chickens for a couple of days and the sheep which roamed the field have now disappeared. When I saw this wool clad fence in the distance I thought it was a poignant reminder of their recent departure.

Photographed through falling snow, this image failed to have any impact. I converted it to Black and White, then started fiddling. I've added and blended colour filters, dodged and burnt areas to bring out light and shades and tinted a little colour back into the pheasant that chanced to pass as I took the shot. Seeing as the image is now a distant relation of the original, I've added the frame too.

It's not often I play around with Photoshop now, but this was a fun pastime on a day which is ghastly outside. The snow has fallen furiously all day but isn't laying. The ground is a soggy mess so I decided to leave my camera at home during the dogs walk and make do with what I have.

The result is as bad as the original. Makes a change, if nothing else. :)

I hope everyone in the areas of Britain which are being hit so hard are well and that none of you were amongst those without power or stuck in cars.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.