Red Kite

Heavily cropped and over edited to remove noise, I'm still happy with this image. Lady D spotted the Kite last year and I managed to blip it in the distance. I've been on the lookout but until a few days ago I failed to see it again. The other day it was soaring above a nearby field but, it wasn't alone. Since then I've seen them most mornings so I'm hoping they're nesting nearby. Although they have made a come back, from almost wiped out to near pestilent numbers in some areas, this is, to my knowledge, the first pair in this area.

Scavengers by nature, the pair are cleverly hiding in amongst the huge flock of Gulls that congregate to feed in and around the landfill pit. They won't be getting much from there for long as the operations are coming to completion. Soon the area will be restored to grassland, with a very unattractive gas station perched on the summit.

The eye isn't back to normal yet but so much better. Diagnosis for those who have been interested, I call stupidity. I either got hot ash in it when I emptied the firebox or dust from the heater fan in the car. I wear contact lenses and, like an idiot. rubbed my eye when dust got underneath. Time to buy safety goggles for stove maintenance.
Please, retract all sympathy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.