Wave Induced Motion

Seed pods from a nearby ash caught my eye, their bright yellow colour standing out against the darker water. Initially the surface was calm and as there were not many seeds I worked the composition to include some reflected reeds.

Unexpectedly the wake from a passing boat caused the seeds to swirl about. Although I had a polariser on, lengthening the exposure a touch, I wasn't set up to make the most of the movement. Then the lake was quiet and no further activity occurred, so I only managed the one shot with seeds in motion. 

As the seeds were a bit sparse, I used some dodging and burning to bring out the lighter aquatic plants surrounding them to add further interest.

In a separate exercise, I tried this averaging technique for high dynamic range images. Unfortunately, my image wasn't all that interesting. But one to try again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.