On a branch above the deck

Did a bit of laundry this morning; shirts for the coming week on Zoom. As i was starting to peg the shirts on the line, my attention was caught by a tui flying across, and looking up I saw the kereru perched on a branch. Initially its head was tucked in as if sleeping. And then it sat up a little more, and I was able to get the photo which I've blipped. I wasn't surprised to see it there, as there have been pigeon droppings on the deck the last few days.

Today has been fathers' day here and Australia. My children organised a Zoom get together and that was really great. I did take a photo of the screen towards the end and as I don't like it, I won't put it up as an extra. I may send it to the children.

A basically quiet day, on which I have started a book recommended by S; the first in the Bruno, Chief of Police series. I'm enjoying it so far.

After yesterday's low of 20 new cases, I am surprised that it remains that low; 20 new cases again today. It would be nice to think that we may have been successful with this abrupt and full lockdown. A New Zealander currently in Britain or the US wrote mockingly, even disparagingly, about New Zealand going into lockdown because of one case. That one case grew rapidly, but the R value was rarely at the level it can be and has been in other countries, because we (mostly) abide by the rules and recommendations; stay inside, keep our distance when out, wear masks when out and especially on public transport, and get a swab if develop symptoms, or were in a place of interest.

It is too soon to say we have done it, but the signs are good that NZ will not end up like so many other countries.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.