Who pulled off its wings?

Personally, I would blame Aeolus. I initially thought it might by the God of storms, or tempests. However, on reflection I thought that Aeolus with his mischievous variation of force had kept just working away at the wings of the butterfly until they fell off.

On Saturday (when I was sweeping broken branches and twigs plus leaves off the deck) I rescued the broken wings from the planter box below the poor butterfly and returned them close to from where they had fallen.

Today was the third day in a row when the number of new cases of Covid was 20. I interpret the numbers as a clear indication that the lockdown has prevented spread. Almost all have been in Auckland, and all but a minority are linked to a single original source. 

I am hopeful that we will not get a case of Covid admitted to our inpatient unit. Almost all the acute inpatient psychiatric units in Sydney have had at least one case. We screen and swab every admission, and they remain in isolation with two staff members until the results of the swab are known. The laboratory provides us with a two hour turnaround, which means that the isolation is brief and usually non traumatic for persons with severe psychosis.

I've spent the day on the computer, linked in to email, and doing Zoom meetings. I was more than ready for a half hour jog along the edge of the water. Only just in time to not be blocked from getting around to Algies Bay by the water being too deep. The extra (of a Toreapango - the black morph of the variable oystercatcher) was taken during my jog.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.