Abstract Steam

It was the final day of the Autumn Steam gala today, so I popped down the station first thing after picking up a paper. I thought I try to get some different shots, so I quite liked this driver surrounded by steam and the abstraction of the moving wheels in Extras. I've added a classic shot in Extras too, one engine coming back into the station having 'turned round' for the return journey, with another waiting to come in in the background.

I thoroughly enjoyed watching the Paralympics and watched the closing ceremony today. Well done to Tokyo/Japan on brilliant staging of the games during a pandemic. I thought Ch4's coverage was superb, telling the paralympian's stories too, and Clare Balding was brilliant. Team GB came 2nd in the medal table with 41 golds and beat the US (who topped the Olympic medal table and is 5 times the size of the UK) - just incredible. And how exciting watching Emma Raducanu thrash a player ranked 41 in the World 6-0, 6-1 - and her opponent wasn't playing badly! So she's now in the 2nd week of a grand slam aged 18. 

P.S. That picture I posted yesterday is from the front window of the office of a  'senior care' provider ;)))

Day 538 / Day 49 of Step 4 of Roadmap Easing (for my record only)
The Vaccines Minister has confirmed that in order to keep the whole economy open during the Winter, vaccine passports will be introduced at 'big venues'. Research has shown that almost 50 shops a day closed down across the UK in H1 2021. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.