pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Easy like

As I write this shortly after midday, I have just showered and dressed and despite all three of my children being present, aside from the quiet chirruping of Classic FM “on the Alexa” there is nary a sound to be heard in the house.

I feel like I should make lunch, but don’t want to make a sound myself and even as I type this, my touch upon the keys is lighter than it normally would be for fear of breaking the mystical spell of calm which has fallen upon us.

What the heck was in the water at that Temple yesterday? How long can I stay………oh, wait, they’re hitting each other.

We hadn’t had that much of a lazy morning, breakfast lead straight into some baking prep (Matty and I watched the brilliant Ratatouille yesterday and were inspired to try something new) for some crispy apple pies done in a McDonald’s style. The prep work was fun and though they had a slightly soggy bottom, they tasted delicious with a blob of ice cream as accompaniment. 

I felt like we’d earned it after a lovely, warm walk north along the river (they scooted) to a spot we’d not been to for a while, where m’boy and I could play stone skimming football whilst The Youngest hurls boulders to make big splashes. We saw a couple of people we knew along the way and it was nice to catch up with some familiar faces. After the pasting the area has taken over the summer holidays, it was also nice to see everywhere so quiet and just as it should be on a Sunday afternoon.

On the return leg, we stopped briefly on Gooseholme, which enabled me to de-stone a trainer and snap this shot.

It’s been a lovely weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.