pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

I can go for smiles

I had a beautiful moment today. Well, lots of beautiful moments actually, but there were fifteen in particular which form the crux of today’s blip.

For some time now, the wee ones and I have really wanted to visit the Buddhist Temple at Ulverston. We’ve driven past it a few times on our way for a wander over Bardsea, our eyes drawn to the gold rooftop fixtures sparkling in the sunshine. Today felt like the right day to go and investigate as we were collecting The Eldest after her first shift at her new job in a café, also in Ulverston.

The sense of calm and peace sweeps over you immediately as we wandered around the surrounding grounds, but we were all keen to see the temple. By sheer coincidence we arrived at the exact time they were giving a free fifteen-minute guided meditation, so without trepidation we made our way into the beautiful, silent temple and took our seats. I didn’t even have to tell the wee ones to be quiet, they just knew and sat in respectful silence as they took in the atmosphere, the Buddha and all of the symbols and iconography which adorned the back wall.

One of the teachers made their way to the front, apologised for being a stand-in, but then began the meditation and so peaceful and calm was it, that I was able to forget about the perils of not having an eyeball on The Youngest, but I didn’t hear a peep from her and we started doing our meditation and breathing in the light and exhaling any negativity in a cloud of dark smoke. I was in the moment and unbidden, tears began to slip down my face as some things I’d been unnecessarily holding onto, quietly slipped away.

The fifteen minutes were up too soon, but when we slowly opened our eyes I was pleased to see The Youngest where I had left her (chloroformed and gaffer taped to a chair) and m’boy, who’d been sat just in front of us, turned around with a broad grin on his face. I looked around the room and made eye contact with a few other people and we all smiled at each other. I can’t remember the last time I saw or was part of something like that. There was even a half-hearted attempt at some applause by one chap and whilst this was misplaced, I kind of knew what he meant and why he’d felt compelled to do it.

The children were as good as gold, but I would be tempted to go back again without them to try and take in a little more of the ethos surrounding Buddhism (the quest for “inner peace” is a great starting point), because anything that can make you feel that good and doesn’t involve food, alcohol or……ahem, the involvement of a consenting partner has got to be worthy of closer inspection.

Just think, that was just fifteen minutes of the good stuff, no wonder the Buddha is always smiling.

P.S. I've added one of the wee ones practicing their meditation poses. It may appear that they are taking the mickey, but were dead serious and wished they had been in this position for the actual meditation!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.