Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Harbour Seals, Resting

Wanted to feature the seals again since I don’t have many photos of them for this summer.   So I played on the ipad today.  photos from yesterday.   And they reminded my of a book I read (most of) recently , The Undrowned, Black Feminist Lessons from Marine Mammals by Aexis Pauline Gumbs.  Part biology part poetry..it was an interesting concept of many different poetic meditations on the different marine mammals she has studied in the world and what they might teach us humans.   It didn’t really work for me but I loved the parts about the different mammals and some of the metaphors.   One in particular:  Rest.   I think she compared what elephant seals do at some point in their lives…just rest.   I’ve done some of that.
Well, I think these harbour seals know how to do that as well.  the only other mammals I’ve seen are the orcas earlier…. and these may very well be transients, which eat seals.     Have not even seen an otter since I’ve been here.
A slow day… the power went off early and H spent an hour gathering generator etc so he could grind and make coffee!   Came back on after 5 hours…I think some glitch in some work BC hydro was doing on this island.   The only other thing of note is we put our tin boat away in the generous neighbor’s boathouse while he was here.  Summer is winding down..

Thank you for all the kind birthday greetings yesterday.!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.