... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Indoor Blip: Tulips and Flash

Hum, I've had a lovely day, but it has certainly not been a lovely day...
I woke up to a grey sky and falling snow (falling but not settling), and the weather has not improved since (unless you count snow interspersed with sleet as an improvement...).

I was glad to see that the tasteful pink tulips are still holding it together (for the most part; some are looking very tired indeed). I whipped out my flash and had a happy flashing session! I experimented with front lighting and backlighting, I used off camera flash alone and tried supplementing it with the camera's flash. The natural light was very low, which meant that most of the light was created by the flashes and lead to rather dramatically contrasty conditions when the flash was lighting the flowers directly.
I enjoyed the process, but am not blipping the most aesthetic photograph; I'm blipping this one because I think the result is interesting. The flash was on the table to my right (so in front and below the tulip) but some light appears to be lighting the stigma from above and to the left (a reflection from the pale rims of the petals), and the narrow depth of field with the petals out of focus has left them with slight haloes in places, which I rather like in this context.

I have adjusted the image in Lightroom but less than might be suspected from the result (perhaps?): I've adjusted the white balance, increased the "blacks" a little, and applied a small amount of sharpening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.