Magic Weekend 2021 Day 1 - A Collection of Bridges

Today was the day for setting off to Newcastle for Magic Weekend. We were organised and ready to go by 11am as planned despite a few snags. I'd forgotten to do laundry so we had to go via Tesco as I had no britches! Hahaha! Tesco's choice was abysmal! 

We then had to go home again anyway as both of us realised we'd not packed our medication! Kind of essential! Once we'd collected the pharmacy we were on our way!

The journey was smooth enough! We stopped for lunch at a very busy service station. Burger King! Yum! My first since New Year! They had no hot drinks or water for some reason so I didn't get a drink. This meant another stop at a quieter service station just before we got to Newcastle. When I ordered my drink I was horrified to realise that I couldn't find my purse! Major panic! Tesco was the last place I'd used it. I called them from the car, but they'd not had any handed in. 

Meanwhile the outdated Satnav had no idea how to get us to the hotel and we were going in circles. I looked it up on Google maps and we finally got there. I remembered that my handbag had fallen off the back seat of the car earlier and had gone under my seat. I looked under there and there was my purse! What a relief! 

We got booked in and went to our room. It's not brilliant and smells like a garage! There's some oily looking marks on the wall by the door too. There's also quite a bit of traffic noise, but I just tell myself it's the wind blowing. The card key is very hit and miss, and we have not got into the room at the first attempt once yet! Otherwise it's OK, and the staff are lovely and friendly. 

Once organised we went out. I'd still not had a drink, so we found a Costa, then went for a walk to find a blip! It had to be the iconic bridges! Brian got in first as he had a decent phone shot, but I'm back blipping! I'm writing all this more for my own benefit as I doubt anyone else will read it!

We did a bit more walking around and exploring. Newcastle is an amazing city, I'd like to come here for a bit longer next time. I've Blipped the iconic bridges but my favourite shot of the day is the extra.

We decided we should find somewhere to have tea, but everywhere was booked solid. Not surprising really on a Friday night in a busy city! We ended up getting a butty from Greggs and sitting on a bench to eat. 

We spent the rest of the evening in a lovely pub called The Crows Nest. I had a few gin and tonics which went down well! We may go there for lunch tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.