D'aicí enfòra

By chaiselongue

Not so Mediterranean

There was a lot of talk about how the olive tree is Mediterranean during our course on pruning this morning, but unfortunately the weather didn't play the game and it rained! Quite a contrast to last year's event, when the sun shone. Today's was just as interesting and informative, though, and the lunch was as good and a lot of fun (and a lot of wine which led to a real need for a siesta afterwards). During the pruning demonstration I tried to take shots of the expert doing his thing, but since he was in the branches in low light, from underneath an umbrella I ended up with a lot of blurry shots of his arm moving and someone moving in front of me to get a better look! This one shows four quite drastic cuts and the branches lying on the ground around the tree. Now I have a better idea of how to prune our two trees.

Last night's music was fantastic, the Malian guitarist and singer Yacoub Soubiega, with an accompanying bassist and singer. I've put a couple of shots in my blipfolio - here and here - but I won't leave them there for long as I'm not very happy with them, just surprised that they show anything at all since they were literally taken by candlelight....that seems to be the story of the weekend, low light, good food and company, and good music!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.