RUSWARP

A lovely morning to all myself today.  

First I had to take Hubby down into Grange as his car needed to go in for servicing ready for the long journey to Edinbear a couple of weeks time.

So as we were up fairly early I decided I was going to head out by 9.00 am.  I wasn't sure where I was going but judging from Grange there are still a lot of tourists about so somewhere quiet.

I was also trying to bear in mind the theme for LetsDo52 this week which is Urban, stone.  Well I don't really do urban I haven't even been to Ulverston in an age.  Morecambe is about as Urban as it gets for me and then I only visit Mum or go along the Prom.  Still it can be done, it's just more of a challenge then visiting a large town or city.

I decided I hadn't been to Sedbergh for a while so I just drove up the A590, A591 and up one junction on the M6 and headed there.  I just then spent a pleasant hour just strolling around the town.  A few people around, quite a large party of noisy walkers otherwise fairly quiet.  It was lovely, just taking the odd photo here and there (see collage in extra).

Then where, I thought, back home - nah it's too good a day for that so I  just let the car decided and we headed up the A684.  I briefly stopped off at the potholed car park there but no ponies today but a lot of shorn sheep.  I just took in the surroundings and noticed the murky haze over The very sunny Howgills.   Then drove on up to Garsdale Head Station. (see collage in extra). 

It's in a very bleak, but beautiful area, a handful of cottages near the station, a house further down the hill and that's about it with the odd scattered farm between Sedbergh (9 miles) in one direction and Hawes (6 miles) in the other.  

I somehow managed to park in the overflow car park, which was full but I still got parked.  I just walked around the area - very steep and then visited the station, both platforms.

What a lovely little station it is.  Sadly I couldn't get a photo of the attractive signal box as it was under scaffolding and there were several men there working on it.

On the Leeds platform I learnt all  abou the tragic true story of Mr Nuttall and his gorgeous dog Ruswarp.  

I then just drove on up to Hawes but turn off onto the B6255 to Ingleborough going past the Ribblehead Viaduct, very busy there so I didn't stop today but then I have stopped there many times before. I must say I am amazed at just how many people just "dump" rather than park there cars whereever they choose without any thought to anyone else.  Still that is only a few of them.

I tried stopping for coffee and an early lunch at Ireby Farm Cafe but it doesn't open on Mondays and Tuesdays!!

Then just back home.  All roads relatively quiet but lots of walkers and campers around in various places.  

That's all for now.  Many thanks for all your kind words, stars and heats as always.  Take care and stay safe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.