Who knew?

By InOtherNews

Imps 3 Telford 2

Today I watched my football team labour to a 3-2 win. It may sound good on the face of it, but our opponents (Telford) hadn't won for 27 matches. They're rock bottom of the league and nine points adrift of safety.

So we won 3-2, but we were 2-1 down and looking awful. It's good we won, but I am beginning to wonder if we'll ever be a proper competitive league side again. We truly looked poor against a team of part time players. Fair play to them for battling hard and making it a nervy afternoon.

Despite the win we are still very much in the shit.

Special mention has to go to the 9 hardy souls who travelled over two hours in dreadful conditions to watch a team already effectively relegated and unlikely to bring home anything but a defeat. It's the first time in my life I can claim to have shaken the hand of every single away fan, but today I managed it. They deserved it, people like this make the game of football the beautiful thing it can be.

For those who don't know I don't just support the Imps - I am the Imp. I've been matchday mascot Poacher The Imp for the last 14 seasons (this being my 15th year). This is how I managed to shake the hands of the entire travelling contingent!

In other news I am now going to hibernate for 24-36 hours. I have Red Dead Redemption to plough through on the PS3 and as the house is empty I might treat myself to a session of The Specials on my stereo with the little 'Bass Boost' button pressed.

For younger readers a 'stereo' was something approximately the size of a fishtank that used to be the only way to listen to music properly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.